Cat

I sat down with Catherine Lagman, a product designer on our UX team. Catherine is one of the many new additions to the fast growing CoverHound team. Let’s get to know her better!

Where are you originally from? What brought you to San Francisco?
I was born in the Philippines and moved to Staten Island, New York when I turned one. After a couple of years, my family and I moved to the Bay Area once my mom accepted a job that accelerated her career. I grew up in Fremont and moved to San Francisco for college and work. I currently live in Redwood City and love the sunshine and warmth in the summer.

What brought you to CoverHound?
I was working as a freelance product designer and since I was close to finishing up some client work, I was open to new opportunities. A recruiter contacted me because CoverHound's UX team was looking for a designer, and I became really excited once I learned more about the product and the team.

What is something that not many people know about you?
I took a break from my design career and lived in Japan for a year. I worked as an Assistant Language Teacher and taught English to Pre-School and Jr High kids. I moved to Japan without knowing the language and culture. It was a major chapter in life, and I’m extremely grateful that I’ve had that opportunity.

Who is someone you look up to?
My dad is someone I definitely look up to. He’s one of the nicest and smartest people I know. He taught me at a very young age to work hard and be kind to others. He is someone who I strive to be on a daily basis.

What sparked your interest in design?
I collected magazine ads when I was a kid. I always noticed how elements on a page were laid out, as well as the fonts and colors used. When I was in junior high, I learned how to make web graphics on Photoshop on my own.

What is your favorite place to travel to?
I love England. In a previous job, half my design team was in SF, and the other half in York, England (2 hours north of London.) I would go every couple of months to visit, and couldn’t get enough of their fish and chips.

When you were a kid - what did you want to be when you grew up? What would your 10-year-old self think of you now?
I vividly remember memories of watching Bob Ross with my dad on Sunday mornings growing up. I wanted to be a painter when I was a kid. My 10-year-old self would have never guessed in my wildest dreams that I would be designing digital products.

What do you like to do in your free time?
I paint (watercolor/acrylic) and take photos on my free time. Sometimes I karaoke. Keyword: Sometimes. I also like to hike and rock climb (indoor) on the weekends.

What are the 3 things you can’t live without?
My keyboard, Sketch, and bread. I love carbs.

What's your favorite part of your job, and what makes you want to come to work in the morning?
My favorite part of my job is my team! I really enjoy collaborating, white-boarding, and exchanging ideas with them. They’re super supportive and we learn from each other. I love coming into work in the morning because of the people.

Thank you, Catherine. We’re glad to have you on the team!

Favorite Posts

Renter's checklist infographic

A Checklist for Renters (Infographic)

April 9th, 2015

Finding the perfect apartment or home to rent can be quite the challenge. Be smart about your search and make sure to know what to look for so you don't regret your living situation.

Auto accident

What To Do After An Auto Accident

January 9th, 2015

Follow CoverHound's tips for what you should do after an accident and make the process easier on yourself.