Moving to Georgia? You would either be really well prepared, or lost among all the matters that require your attention. At CoverHound, we know that moving out of state can be a hassle, so we have prepared for you some useful information about auto insurance in Georgia.
A common misconception about auto insurance minimum coverage is that, it is the same for all states. That is not true. Auto insurance in Georgia requires you to have a minimum liability coverage of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage to protect yourselves from lawsuits. It is a benefit to understand what are the changes to your minimum coverage when moving states.
SR22 is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR) - isn’t a type of car insurance, but a verification that you’re maintaining car insurance liability coverage. You would be required to possess a SR22 if you are caught driving without insurance, driving under influence (DUI), committing repeat traffic offenses or if you get too many tickets within a short period of time. At CoverHound, SR22 typically costs between $20-$25 in Georgia.
It is also important to check if your current SR22 is valid in GA. It may be waived because you have met regulations enforced by the state that you were previously in, and an affidavit is most commonly required in order to get the waiver. However, you may also be required to receive a new SR22 based upon Georgia’s financial responsibility laws.
Uninsured motorist coverage is optional in Georgia, but it is advisable to consider getting the coverage to protect yourself in the event of an accident with an uninsured motorist. Accidents happen when you least expect it, but with the right coverages, you will be protected.
There are 2 different types of uninsured motorist coverage in GA:
Added-On Coverage will pay for your damages in addition to the at fault driver’s liability coverage limit, up to your added-on coverage limit.
Reduced Coverage will only pay up to the difference between the at-fault driver’s liability coverage and your reduced coverage.
Below is an example to show the difference in payouts between the two coverage.
|Cost of Damages||At Fault Driver's Liability||Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage of $100,000||Total Payout||Amount Not Covered|
However, the two uninsured motorist coverage choices do not differ if the at-fault driver responsible for your injuries or property damage does not have any liability coverage. In such cases, both Added-On Coverage and Reduced Coverage will pay up to the amount of Uninsured Motorist Coverage purchased.
When moving states, it is important to make sure that you are continuously insured. Cancel your auto insurance only after you have obtained new coverage in Georgia. It is also important to ensure that your current auto insurance is valid in GA and most states have up to 90 days for you to register your vehicle.
If you have existing tickets, DUIs and claims in the last 5 years, it is important to be honest with the insurance agents when purchasing a new policy. Unfortunately, moving states does not grant you a clean slate as your driving history is tagged to you even after you have moved to Georgia.
The complexity of the insurance industry can really be mind boggling, but at CoverHound, our dedicated agents are here to guide you through this process.